Almost There

Well, I am on the first step of the journey; a visit with Mom before heading to Italy. I will spend a few weeks showing my grandkids the highlights of Italy with their parents in tow and then head south for the first day of class, January 8th. I can hardly believe it.

Here in Florida it is warm and green but it still feels like Christmas and when my brother and I were left to our own devices for dinner, we made a plate of pasta. Here is the recipe for a dish we always have on Christmas Eve. it’s called Aglio e Olio con Alice. (Garlic and Olive with Anchovies) Don’t make a face, you can’t even taste the anchovies, they act as the salt in the dish and if you ever ate Thai food, it is loaded with fish sauce (made from fermented anchovies) – so get over it and try this recipe.

Aglio e Olio con Alice 

9 cloves of garlic – smashed, sliced or chopped – your preference.
1/2 cup of good olive oil
1 can of flat anchovies
1/2 cup of toasted bread crumbs (you just brown them in a dry skillet and set them aside for later)
1 pound of linguine

Get the salted water going for the pasta.
Heat up a large skillet and add the olive oil.  When it is warm add the garlic and barely toast it. Do not let the garlic get too brown.
Add the can of anchovies and the oil it is packed in and stir to break it up. You can take it off the heat and mash the anchovies until they disappear or leave them in bigger pieces- your preference.
When the pasta is al dente take one scoop of water from the pot and add it to the oil and garlic mixture.
Drain the pasta, add it to the skillet and toss until all the pasta is coated.

Serve it and pass the crumbs which are sprinkled over the top of the pasta as you would do with cheese.
Enjoy. Talk about a 15 minute supper!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Almost There

  1. Karoline says:

    I’m going to get past the anchovies and try this recipe. Thanks for sharing it!

  2. Gena says:

    Your culture sounds really awesome! Thanks for sharing and I just might have to pass on the reciepe….but I will concider it 🙂 I would love to be in Florida! Enjoy!

    • Gena says:

      P.S. Have I ever told you that my grandma was half Italian? So maybe I’m a quarter? Not sure how that works but I was told that I have some Italian in me.

  3. Michelle says:

    Love that you are on your way and thankful for the connection. I look forward to more stories of this amazing journey. Enjoy your family, culture and the excitement of a dream come true. Blessings, Michelle

  4. Michael says:

    Came right home and found this…
    I WILL try this recipe!
    And will wait for all the others to come…one by one, learning how to cook with you!

    It was SO GREAT seeing you and the kids tonight…

  5. Arleen Romano says:

    As a kid I shunned this because of the anchioves, now I realize I missed years of good food. Give it a shot.

  6. C Simeroth says:

    I’m looking forward to trying the recipe too and to updates about your adventures! Enjoy Florida (we do!). Merry Christmas!

  7. Kathy Rocci says:

    Glad you are enjoying yourself. Look forward to more recipes

  8. Nick S says:

    Hmmm . . . almost anything with olive oil tossed with pasta sounds good. Too bad you don’t have step-by-step photos. You could start a food blog like the Pioneer Woman.

Leave a Reply

