Day of Rest

Saturday morning, no class, gorgeous sun and a long walk looking for something, anything in the neighborhood. No luck today but had a little old Italian lady stop her car and ask ME for directions to a gas station. That was pretty funny, however, I knew the answer – even funnier.

Here is a shot of the pre dawn sun from my room.  I know you are not going to have any sympathy for anything I whine about after seeing this. I don’t even have any sympathy for me.  The other shot is of something called Lardo.  It is backfat from a well fed pig that is seasoned and cured for 9 months in a marble coffin.  It is actually incredibly flavorful and just melts when you hold it in your hand.  We wrapped that quail you saw the other day in the post with it and barely sautéed it.  Yum.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day of Rest

  1. Sara Jansen says:

    Glad to hear about the laughter. Can’t even imagine doing what you are doing…..and omg, the food. How can you keep it all straight. So many different things….and such a beautiful view. Thank you so much for sharing.

  2. Linda Anderson says:

    Oh my gosh – I really want to be there!!

  3. Carol says:

    lovely! I’ve heard Lardo on Iron Chef. facinating.

  4. Gail Trapani says:

    Hi,
    Your right, I was felling sorry for your aching back and the bad day you had at the slaughter house, but after seeing the breathtaking view from your room my sympathy waned juuuuust a little.
    I am so grateful for the great job you do on the blog, your descriptive recounting of what you are up to lets me vicariously experience your adventure. You will also have a great account of your journey too. I don’t want to rush you home or anything, but I’m so excited about your return that I started thinking of possible places that we can all meet again and delight in the fruits of your labor.
    Enjoy yourself!
    Gail

  5. Patty says:

    Sunset looks peaceful. How nice. So great to hear you are out walking and doing. How healthy.

Leave a Reply

