Here’s What’s Cooking

So, this is my life.  It’s 6:30 PM, dinner is in an hour.  I am sitting on my bed listening to Italian news, none of which I understand, sipping a Montepulciano d’ Abruzzo  (Kirst, we had that one time in Florence)    I am munching on a few taralli, a type of cracker, with percorino cheese, or pepper, or sun dried tomato.  I just got back from a 2 hour walk to the super market and back. It is a way to go, but then I can eat dessert.  J

Yesterday Andreas brought in a half of a recently butchered hog – today we made sausage.  It is kind of like seeing an old friend as I butchered a lot of pigs in the 70’s and 80’s and I am looking forward to doing it on a marble slab instead of 2 saw horses and a sheet of plywood.  Can’t wait.

Oh, BTW, here is my Italian phone number.   O11  39  380 69 72734

011 gets you international     39 is the code for Italy     The rest is my number.  It is correct, don’t worry that it is a strange number of numbers, they are not committed to any particular format. 

Here are a few shots of our trip to the winery and the hog cutting day and a shot of the lunch we had yesterday.  I am really enjoying this entire experience and learning so much.

Best Taziki sauce ever!!!

Nick, I was totally thinking about you.  The food was killer. Stavros was only here for 2 weeks so this was his goodbye gift to us.

More tomorrow,

Ciao

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Here’s What’s Cooking

  1. Nick S says:

    Excellent!! I hope he taught you how to make it, so you can duplicate it here 🙂

Leave a Reply

