Catchin’ Up

So much has happened in the last few weeks that in order to catch up – this will be a big mix of things.

First – We had another Menu execution, but I had a better team leader and things went quite well.  Since I have so much baking experience I find myself always assigned to the breads and desserts, but it is fine and I can do my part. Here are a few of the incredible  courses we made and enjoyed.

Saffron Marscapone and Smoked Salmon

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
As soon as I returned from Terlizzi with my new photos of Grandpa’s hometown, I boarded the bus with the rest of the class, and we headed for Sicily.  We spend 3 days in Taomina, which is on the east coast of Sicily. We didn’t get to see any of the Greek ruins in Syracusa, but we did have a lovely relaxing time in absolutely perfect weather.  Here are some great shots of Etna, the view from the deck of the hotel, and a VERY strange plant.
 

Etna from the deck

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Looking for Love

Those pictues above are of Marzipan fruits and vegetables. Almonds and pistachios grow like crazy in Sicily and they are master’s of the marzipan decoration, which is just almond paste and sugar.  They loook so real it is hard to imagine they are just candy. 

Sorry about the arrangement of photos, I still have not completely figured out the way to insert groups.   Let’s see, what else.  Oh, yeah, it turned into Spirng a few days ago as if the weather was checking the calendar. We have had pleasant weather since the first day of Spring on the 21st. Here are a few photos of the things that are blooming around here.  The tiny lemon blosson was in Sicily, and the perfume that came out of that little flower is enough to make you want to sell your house and move there.  It was heavenly!

Lemon Blossom

 

Borage - growing everywhere

 

Little Poppy, Popping up

Orange trees in the front yard

white Iris
That is probably enought for now.  I am heading to Naples to see what I can learn about wood fired pizza and I will have more tales for you upon my return.  I am almost done with school and will be moving to another location for my internship, called a stage.  I don’t know where I am going yet, I’ll keep you posted.  I love hearing from you all.
Ciao for now,
Marian
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catchin’ Up

  1. Carol says:

    that prickly pear fruit is marzapan?! It’s perfect! I wanted to crack it open.

  2. Natalie says:

    Ahhhh, Taormina !!!! Your photos bring back a deluge of fond memories for me. I can’t wait to read about your Naples wood-fired pizza quest.

Leave a Reply

